Winchester‐Frederick County Historical Society
The Winchester‐Frederick County Historical Society is a non‐profit organization of individuals interested in the preservation and expansion of knowledge about the historical and cultural heritage of the Northern Shenandoah Valley, with geographical focus on the City of Winchester and Frederick County, Virginia. They fulfill their education mission by maintaining five museums — Abram's Delight, George Washington's Office, and Stonewall Jackson's Headquarters, an 18th Century Valley Cabin, and the Hollingsworth Mill as well as arranging for, or advising on, the publication of monographs, books, and maps relevant to Winchester‐Frederick County history.
After designing exhibits for the Stonewall Jackson's Headquarters Museum, featuring the largest collection of Jackson memorabilia and personal objects from members of his staff, the Society commissioned 1717 to design book jackets and book marks for two of their scholarly publications.
The Civil War Journal of Mary Greenhow Lee (Mrs. Hugh Holmes Lee) of Winchester, Virginia, edited by Eloise C. Strade (2010), is a fascinating and compelling story about daily life in Winchester, Virginia during the American Civil War. In the Foreword, Gary Gallagher notes that the “publication of Mary Greenhow Lee’s journal enriches the already formidable body of published primary evidence from the generation that experienced the war.”
History of Douglas School: A Tribute to Endurance, Belief, Perseverance, and Success by Judy Humbert and June Gaskins‐Davis (2013), graduates of Douglas, undertake the task of documenting this story of accomplishments and pride for future generations. Douglas School was the heart and center of the African‐American community of Winchester and Frederick County, Virginia during the days of segregation from 1927 to 1966 when the doors at Douglas were closed as an all black school.